Afternoon Tour: 2-5pm
Price: $40 adult; $30 student
419 3d St S
This classic Greek Revival structure was built in 1850 by William Lunsford Long for his parents, Elizabeth Brownrigg and Benjamin Long, on land purchased from John Hand, an early prominent Columbus doctor. Today, the home is a magnificent example of how to adapt a historic house into a comfortable and graceful family home. When the front door opens, be prepared for a breathtaking experience.
Home of the Drs. Brooke & Ricky Johnston
571 Ridge Road
Constructed c. 1835, only 14 years after Columbus was founded, the single story frame house was reputed to be the post office and residence of the city’s first postmaster, Gideon Lincecum. Moved in 1846 to College Street, a brick ground floor was added to create a Charming Greek Revival southern cottage. To save it from demolition, Bob and Elizabeth Proffitt bought it for $10, then moved it to its present Ridge Road location in 1973. In 2021, John F. Klosterman III purchased the house and began a loving and thoughtful renovation. Now titled Ridge House, guests are welcomed to a fully functioning vacation rental and event space.
Owned by John F. Klosterman III
The Campbell House
215 3rd Ave S
This charming Greek Revival cottage was built by John Henry Richards. Legend says that merchant William B. Weaver and his family lived here during the 1848 construction of Errolton, their home across the street. Errolton was first called “The Weaver Home,” and Campbell House was known for many years as Weaver Cottage. This structure is currently being restored, so the tour will be an architectural one.
Owned by Dr. John Fields