Morning Tours, Lunch & Learn, and Afternoon Tours
Day Package Time:9-5pm
Price: $115 adult; $85 student
Morning Tour: 9-11am
The Stephen D. Lee Home and Museum
316 7th St N
Built by James Lull for Maj. Thomas Blewett, the home was inherited by his granddaughter, Regina Harrison Lee, wife of Stephen D. Lee. Lee was a Civil War general, first president of Mississippi State University, and worked for reconciliation, historic preservation, and women’s suffrage. He was a friend of three U.S. Presidents. McKinley handed him an appointment, Theodore Roosevelt ordered flags to half-mast upon his death, and Taft asked to visit his home on his stop in Columbus. The house contains many original furnishings and houses the Florence McLeod Hazard Local History Museum.
Stephen D. Lee Foundation / National Register / Mississippi Landmark
624 1st St S
The original 1906 house, built by the Smith family, was quite small. Later, it was used as a physician’s office and home. Additions and renovations in the 1920s, 1950s, and 2000 added and later enhanced the Colonial Revival architectural style. The charm of this house is enhanced by the fact that it is one of only three houses in the city that sit on the bluff of the Tombigbee River. Owners Fred Kinder and Ralph Null are renowned for their advocacy of the arts, tireless work to promote Columbus, and love of travel. The home contains eclectic collections, including one with thousands of Santa Claus figures.
The home of Fred Kinder and Ralph Null
The Kuykendall House – Bonus
324 4th St S
The Kuykendall House was built in 1928 by Edward Kuykendall, once president of the Motion Picture Theaters of America. Four years before in 1924, Mr. Kuykendall completed the building of Columbus landmark, The Princess Theater. The home is a Tudor Revival, an architectural style very popular in the 1920s, characterized by steeply pitched roofs, high chimneys displaying intricate brickwork, casement windows and arched doorways. Basically a time capsule, three generations of Kuykendalls, as well as numerous boarders, called it home. The home was purchased by Jamie and Jim Davidson in the fall of 2022 and is undergoing restoration.
Owned by Mr. & Mrs. James Davidson
Lunch & Learn 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
You Can Collect Anything
Highlights: You Can Collect Anything
About the Speaker:
“You Can Collect Anything” is the intriguing subject of Jeff Fulton, Assistant director of the Mississippi State University Architecture Department’s Master of Fine Arts in reservation program. Holding degrees from MSU and the prestigious Pratt Institute in New York City, Jeff is proficient in many areas, including interior design, historic architecture, and obviously, “collecting anything.”
About the Venue
- Location: Golden Triangle Theater (old First Baptist Church) 200 7th St N
✓ Presentation by an expert
x Handicap Accessible
Prepare for the Activity:
Event Location: Golden Triangle Theater (old First Baptist Church) 200 7th St N
Open in Google Maps ⟶
Important information Know before you go:
- Dress comfortably
- Any dietary restrictions or food allergies, unfortunately, cannot be accommodated
- No photography allowed
- Street parking
- Event will take place rain or shine
Afternoon Tours 2 – 5 pm
419 3d St S
This classic Greek Revival structure was built in 1850 by William Lunsford Long for his parents, Elizabeth Brownrigg and Benjamin Long, on land purchased from John Hand, an early prominent Columbus doctor. Today, the home is a magnificent example of how to adapt a historic house into a comfortable and graceful family home. When the front door opens, be prepared for a breathtaking experience.
Home of the Drs. Brooke & Ricky Johnston
571 Ridge Road
Constructed c. 1835, only 14 years after Columbus was founded, the single story frame house was reputed to be the post office and residence of the city’s first postmaster, Gideon Lincecum. Moved in 1846 to College Street, a brick ground floor was added to create a Charming Greek Revival southern cottage. To save it from demolition, Bob and Elizabeth Proffitt bought it for $10, then moved it to its present Ridge Road location in 1973. In 2021, John F. Klosterman III purchased the house and began a loving and thoughtful renovation. Now titled Ridge House, guests are welcomed to a fully functioning vacation rental and event space.
Owned by John F. Klosterman III
The Campbell House
215 3rd Ave S
This charming Greek Revival cottage was built by John Henry Richards. Legend says that merchant William B. Weaver and his family lived here during the 1848 construction of Errolton, their home across the street. Errolton was first called “The Weaver Home,” and Campbell House was known for many years as Weaver Cottage. This structure is currently being restored, so the tour will be an architectural one.
Owned by Dr. John Fields