- This event has passed.
Morning Tours, Lunch & Learn, and Afternoon Tours
Day Package Time:9-5pm
Price: $115 adult; $85 student
Morning Tour: 9-11am
901 7th Ave N
Built by lawyer John Shelby Topp, the house originally was a Federal structure of two rooms over two with a central stair hall. The transom and sidelights around the double front doors upstairs and down could be removed easily to facilitate air circulation. Planter James Sykes bought the house in 1854, enlarged it, and added the Greek Revival portico with two fluted octagonal columns. The tour features a Civil War diary and a Brilliant Period Cut Glass collection of distinction. The home was lovingly restored in the 1980s by the late Allen Wayne Bryan and updated in 2020 by his wife Betty.
Home of Mrs. Betty S. Bryan
509 7th St S
This graceful home in an Arts and Crafts Bungalow style was constructed for Charles Barnett Smith in 1910. His daughter, Elizabeth Smith Gwin, MUW class of 1930 and a classmate of Eudora Welty’s, lived in the house for over a hundred years. Purchased by Chase and James Hazard in 2021, a fifteen month remodel has resulted in a home with classic turn of the 20th century charm and the finest of 21st century conveniences, truly a perfect marriage!
The Home of Mr. & Mrs. James Hazard.
Lunch & Learn 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
Jim DelPrince: Amazing Arrangements of Southern Flowers
Highlights: Amazing Arrangements of Southern Flowers
About the Speaker:
Dr. Jim DelPrince is a Horticulture Professor and Specialist with the Mississippi State University Coastal Research and Extension Center in Biloxi. He has written many publications and co-authored the most popular floral design textbook in the country. The state leader for the popular Master Floral Designer program, Jim will tell about the program and demonstrate his artistry with floral arrangements.
About the Venue
- Location: Rosenzweig Arts Center. 501 Main Street
✓ Presentation by an expert
x Handicap Accessible
Prepare for the Activity:
Event Location: Rosenzweig Arts Center. 501 Main Street
Open in Google Maps ⟶
Important information Know before you go:
- Dress comfortably.
- Any dietary restrictions or food allergies, unfortunately, cannot be accommodated
- No photography allowed
- Street parking
- Event will take place rain or shine
Afternoon Tours 2 – 5 pm
571 Ridge Road
Constructed c. 1835, only 14 years after Columbus was founded, the single story frame house was reputed to be the post office and residence of the city’s first postmaster, Gideon Lincecum. Moved in 1846 to College Street, a brick ground floor was added to create a Charming Greek Revival southern cottage. To save it from demolition, Bob and Elizabeth Proffitt bought it for $10, then moved it to its present Ridge Road location in 1973. In 2021, John F. Klosterman III purchased the house and began a loving and thoughtful renovation. Now titled Ridge House, guests are welcomed to a fully functioning vacation rental and event space.
Owned by John F. Klosterman III
8439 Hwy 12 E
Built as a tavern and stagecoach stop by a Mr. Thomason, there were two rooms downstairs and two upstairs with the wide central “dog trot” hall. Sold to the Kidd family, it was operated as a tavern and coach stop until after the Civil War. Stories abound of those wild frontier days. The next owners, the Wood family, used the home as a seminary for training Cumberland Presbyterian preachers. Today the Aaron Lorenz family lives very comfortably in this charming and historic home.
The home of Mr. & Mrs. Aaron Lorenz