- This event has passed.
Morning Tour: 9-12pm
Price: $40 adult; $30 student
The Stephen D. Lee Home and Museum
316 7th St N
Built by James Lull for Maj. Thomas Blewett, the home was inherited by his granddaughter, Regina Harrison Lee, wife of Stephen D. Lee. Lee was a Civil War general, first president of Mississippi State University, and worked for reconciliation, historic preservation, and women’s suffrage. He was a friend of three U.S. Presidents. McKinley handed him an appointment, Theodore Roosevelt ordered flags to half-mast upon his death, and Taft asked to visit his home on his stop in Columbus. The house contains many original furnishings and houses the Florence McLeod Hazard Local History Museum.
Stephen D. Lee Foundation / National Register / Mississippi Landmark
SPECIALTY TOUR EXPERIENCE
515 9th St N
Walk with Professor Jeff Fulton of Mississippi State University’s Masters in Historic Preservation Program as he guides small groups through one of the state’s best examples of period restoration. This unique Mississippi Landmark property,built with enslaved labor, features the original slave cabin, outkitchen, hardware,and a grouping of 20 ft. solid wood columns. Temple Heights has been featured in the magazine Antiques, on HGTV’s Old Homes Restored, and was the home of Jane Fontaine, one of the founders of Decoration Day.
Home of Dr. & Mrs. Mark Novotny / National Register / Mississippi Landmark
The Kuykendall House – Bonus
324 4th St S
The Kuykendall House was built in 1928 by Edward Kuykendall, once president of the Motion Picture Theaters of America. Four years before in 1924, Mr. Kuykendall completed the building of Columbus landmark, The Princess Theater. The home is a Tudor Revival, an architectural style very popular in the 1920s, characterized by steeply pitched roofs, high chimneys displaying intricate brickwork, casement windows and arched doorways. Basically a time capsule, three generations of Kuykendalls, as well as numerous boarders, called it home. The home was purchased by Jamie and Jim Davidson in the fall of 2022 and is undergoing restoration.
Owned by Mr. & Mrs. James Davidson